The Power of Seven

Power of Seven

The number seven has long been considered powerful in astrology and religion. The number seven appears in multiple ways in spiritual matters which will be shared below to demonstrate its power. Each of the sevens illustrated also corresponds to a day of the week and different characteristics.

The Seven Rays

The seven rays are a way to help us understand our strengths and weaknesses as well as our character as we are getting better equipped. A knowledge of the seven rays can enable true servers to work with greater effectiveness and skill in any chosen field. Each of the different rays has specific details with virtues, vices, and qualities which can help us understand one another and work in harmony. A ray is a particular force of energy and the related qualities it exhibits. The rays are explained below.

  • First Ray – Strength – Strong, brave, persevering in service
  • Second Ray – Wisdom – Attaining intuitional wisdom which is developed through perfect love
  • Third Ray – Adaptability – Gaining the power of saying and doing the right thing at the right time of meeting to help others understand more efficiently
  • Fourth Ray – Beauty and Harmony – Bringing beauty and harmony into life and surroundings to be more worthy, learning to see beauty
  • Fifth Ray – Science – Gaining knowledge and accuracy that may be devoted to service
  • Sixth Ray – Devotion – Unfolding devotion within the self to bring others into wisdom
  • Seventh Ray – Ordered Service – Order and arrangement of service with God to take full advantage of the help from the angels.

Seven Archangels

The seven archangels are the watchers over human beings. Each angel has a specific role and cares for humans as a collective. The seven archangels are shared below.

  • Michael – Sunday – Considered the most important of the archangels and the antithesis of Lucifer; Michael is the angel general and advocate for the people of Israel and said to be the patron saint of the Sacrament of the Holy Eucharist.
  • Gabriel – Monday – Considered the hero of God and serves as a holy messenger; the archangel of revelation, wisdom, prophecy, and visions; patron saint of the Sacrament of Baptism.
  • Uriel – Tuesday – Considered the archangel of repentance and the damned with a specific assignment to watch over Hades; the patron of the Sacrament of Confirmation.
  • Raphael – Wednesday – Considered a healer and connected to the planet Mercury; Raphael is the patron of the Sacrament of Reconciliation.
  • Selaphiel – Thursday – Considered the archangel of revelation who presents prayers from people on earth to God.
  • Raguel/Sealtiel – Friday – Considered the archangel of fairness and justice and is the patron of the Sacrament of Holy Orders.
  • Barachiel – Saturday – Considered the archangel of lightning and blessings; a chief angel.

The Seven Cycles of Life

The seven cycles of life are significant astrologically speaking. We all go through seven-year cycles that can dramatically shift our reality and human existence. The number seven marks a catalyst for people’s lives on the collective and personal scales. The seven-year cycle is most associated with Saturn and Uranus with Uranus representing liberation and change and Saturn representing growth and evolution into our authentic selves. When dealing with the seven-year cycle there are some tips to make it a bit bearable. These are shared below.

  • Check in with Core Values – Ensure you are living by your values and core beliefs with each cycle change
  • Release Anything Out of Alignment – A new seven-year cycle can have you questioning those things no longer serving a purpose in life, this is the perfect time to let them go if not aligned with your authentic self
  • Understanding Other Perspectives – In the Uranus cycle which is about unity and humanitarianism, work on embracing one another’s viewpoints to move humanity forward


The above are just a few examples of the importance of the number seven in astrology and religion. Seven is meaningful, lucky, and important in many different areas. Whether you see the number seven in a birth chart, consider it the perfect number, or something else, know it serves a special purpose.